/ Charity

J.K. Rowling & Lumos Launch 'Be The Light'

Author J.K. Rowling's charity - Lumos Foundation - launches limited edition t-shirt for global We Are Lumos event

On Monday, September 12, J.K. Rowling's Lumos Foundation launched Be the Light, a limited edition t-shirt featuring an inspirational quote from her Harvard commencement speech, “We do not need magic to transform our world; we carry all the power we need inside ourselves already."

The sale of the t-shirt is part of a wider campaign that will begin this weekend with a global Facebook Live broadcast with the founder of Lumos Foundation, J.K. Rowling and writer and broadcaster Lauren Laverne in London on Saturday, September 17 at 8.15pm BST / 3.15pm ET / 12.15 PT.

The Facebook Live event marks the start of the We Are Lumos Worldwide global campaign to raise awareness and urge people to get involved with the non-profit organisation’s work to bring the hidden children to light and get them home to families.

As part of this awareness raising, Harry Potter stars and Lumos ambassadors Warwick Davis, Evanna Lynch and Bonnie Wright have visited programmes in Moldova and Haiti to find out more about this vital work. Films of their visits will be released in the coming weeks.

Fans, supporters and celebrities everywhere are invited, as part of the We Are Lumos Worldwide campaign, to Be the Light in the lives of eight million forgotten children, living in the darkest of places.

J.K. Rowling with the cast of Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
Photo Credit: Lumos Foundation
Pictured: J.K. Rowling with the cast of Harry Potter And The Cursed Child


Want J.K. Rowling to answer your questions? Submit them to the We Are Lumos Worldwide webpage by Friday, September 16, 2017.

The Facebook Live event will be streamed through the Lumos Facebook page.

Join the discussion on social media using #WeAreLumos